A Teething Update!

About a month ago me and Amelia had a terrible couple of weeks! I have said a few times “oo I think Amelia’s teething” she had the red cheeks, the dribbling and chewing signs but her temperament hadn’t changed at all! A couple weeks ago I knew that something was definitely happening with Amelia’s teeth as she was just a different baby. She couldn’t keep herself entertained would burst into tears for no reason was off her milk and food and she stopped sleeping through the night. Amelia went from being a smiley content baby to crying and grumpy. It was so horrible to see as it was so unlike her, not something I’ve been used to dealing with. It was quite a stressful couple of weeks and probably one of the toughest times I’ve had with her in her 9 months.

Finally a week and a half a go her bottom right tooth just started to poke through and just days later the bottom left came up too.

photo 3

I was actually quite relieved that she did cut some teeth to have something to show for the complete change in baby!

I managed her teething with the Nelson’s teething granules which I am so impressed with. I would give her calpol about an hour before her dinner so she would get some food in her and most nights she was waking distressed, upset and with a slight temperature about 10-11pm when I would give her another dose of calpol to help her sleep. Amelia usually sleeps 7pm-7am so waking a few times in the night was a shock for us both but thankfully she is back to that now the two bottom teeth have cut through.

photo 5

I don’t think her top teeth will be far off as her gums are looking whiter and getting harder. I really hope they don’t give her as much pain cutting as the bottom ones did!

This was the face I was dealing with for just over a week. Cute but grumpy!!

photo 2

Amelia absolutely loves brushing her teeth. She will let me brush them properly then if I give her the tooth brush and I brush mine she will copy. It is so cute. At the moment I’m brushing them during bath time or just before. When they are fully there I will start brushing her teeth after her bedtime bottle but I’m still getting her used to it and making it a part of her routine!

10371730_10203634885250543_4609372523559793345_n

How did you and your little ones cope with teething?

I completely feel for you if you have a rubbish time with it like we did!

Thanks for reading xx

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: 10 Month Update! | Alice & Amelia

Leave a comment